🔍 Read the full analysis: The New ChatGPT Pro: Higher Limits And Updated Plan Details on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI said on October 29 that Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers would receive twice their previous shared allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex. The company also canceled a planned reduction for Pro 200 and increased Business Premium usage, while leaving prices unchanged; several other limits did not change.
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased the Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to company updates dated October 29. Prices did not change, and the increases apply to a shared allowance for those two products—not to every ChatGPT usage limit.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work, used for longer tasks such as research and document work, and Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent, draw from the same allowance. Increasing that shared pool gives subscribers more room across both products, rather than doubling separate limits for each.
For Pro 200, OpenAI canceled the reduction announced in September. The company’s updated help page says subscribers on the lower allowance now receive twice as much, bringing it in line with the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The help page also says the change applies automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for a renewal date.
OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not specify the amount. Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, described the increase as a doubling in a post on X. The official help page is narrower about which limits changed: Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit is raised to match its higher one. Pro 500 remains the only Pro plan with Ultrafast speed mode, according to the source material.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
More Room for Work and Coding
The change gives some subscribers more capacity for longer ChatGPT tasks and coding work without raising the listed monthly prices. That may matter to people whose work depends on repeated Codex sessions or extended research and document tasks, as well as businesses assigning those tools to employees.
But a doubled allowance does not necessarily mean twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode. The change also does not raise every limit: Plus usage remains unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 stay where they were. Customers comparing plans should distinguish the shared Work and Codex pool from chat-message limits and other features.
For companies, the updated allowance may affect which employees need a Premium seat, but the available information does not quantify the Business Premium increase. Businesses should keep subscription-seat costs separate from API budgets, which are not described as part of this plan change. For individual subscribers, checking the account’s usage information before upgrading is more informative than assuming every cap has doubled.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

KitchenAid Artisan Series 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Dried Rose (KSM150PS)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Reversal
The October update followed a sequence of plan changes. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for its $200 Pro tier on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the move to demand for OpenAI’s GPT-6 Astra model. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200, introduced Pro 500 and told affected customers that included usage allowances would change, while the monthly Pro 200 price would remain $200.
At the time, Sottiaux described the plan ladder on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing Pro 200 customers would keep a 20X multiplier temporarily. The October 29 release notes then canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction. Based on the September scale described in the source material, the restored lower allowance corresponds to the higher 20X level; that comparison describes the plan’s allowance scale, not a promise of a particular amount of completed work.
OpenAI’s October 29 release note, titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” is the basis for the plan changes. The company also updated its Pro help page with qualifications about Pro 200, chat limits and automatic application. Those details matter because Sottiaux’s public post described the change broadly as doubling “all usage limits,” while the help page specifies that several ChatGPT limits remain unchanged.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo, on X
Limits the Update Does Not Specify
The exact size of the Business Premium usage increase is not stated in OpenAI’s release note. Sottiaux said it doubled, but the company help page, as described in the source material, does not give a figure. The release notes also do not quantify the new Work and Codex allowance in absolute units, making it difficult to compare the added capacity across tasks or models.
OpenAI’s help page and Sottiaux’s X post differ in scope. The post refers broadly to doubling all usage limits, while the help page says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits for Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged and identifies the Work and Codex allowance as the increase. The more detailed help-page language indicates that not all limits were doubled. It is also not clear from the supplied material whether plans not mentioned in the October 29 notes, including Business Standard, Go and Free, will receive any future changes.
The source material says the allowance varies in practical effect according to the model, task and speed mode, but provides no example usage totals. That leaves subscribers without a direct way to translate the increase into a number of projects, code sessions or research tasks. Dots, OpenAI’s always-on agents, are described as retaining extended limits “for now” and being counted separately; the duration of that arrangement is not specified.
Check Plan Details and Usage
OpenAI says existing eligible subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically and do not need to wait for renewal. Subscribers can check their account’s usage information to see how the change applies to their plan. The company has not announced a further date for plan changes in the information provided.
Customers evaluating a plan should compare the specific allowance and features they use: the shared Work and Codex pool, weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and access to Ultrafast are distinct details. Businesses considering Premium seats can confirm the updated allowance in their account materials, but should not assume a precise doubling unless OpenAI provides that figure for their subscription. Any later clarification from OpenAI about Business Premium quantities or additional plan changes would resolve some of the remaining questions.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans received higher Work and Codex allowances?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now receive twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Pro 200’s planned cut was canceled, and subscribers on its lower allowance received a doubling to match the higher allowance. OpenAI also says Business Premium usage increased, without stating a quantity in its release note.
Did ChatGPT Pro prices change?
No price changes were announced in the October 29 update. The source material lists Pro 100 at $100 per month, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500. Business Premium is listed at $100 per seat per month with annual billing or $125 monthly.
Did OpenAI double every usage limit?
No. The updated help page says Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and Plus usage is unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit was raised to match the higher one. The Work and Codex allowance is a separate shared pool.
Do existing subscribers need to take action?
No action is required, according to OpenAI’s updated help page. Existing eligible subscribers receive the allowance automatically, without waiting for the next renewal. They can check their account usage information for plan-specific details.
How much more usage does Business Premium receive?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a numerical amount. Sottiaux described it as doubling in a post on X, so the exact figure is not stated in the company’s release note.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
